Let's All Do The Shrink

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Let's All Do The Shrink

Post  Anna Morphic on Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:24 pm

A long way back,Isla and i started LEA.Once we'd registered the guild,we sat down and decided what form we wanted it to take.We wanted a place that was friendly,helpful,and had a general get-along atmosphere.At the time we started playing,i can remember a lot of guilds recruiting and not really catering for the new guy.
I know when i started playing,i was pretty upset by the way people talked to and about new players.For a long time i kept myself to myself until Isla started playing.As in the real world,people in Guild Wars can be pretty darn cruel sometimes.
Now......I'm the kind of person who either does something,or they don't.There's no in-between.So...i recruited like a person gone mental.I was determined we would be the best and nicest place for new players to come to.I also wanted them to have plenty of people to play the game with.
Unfortunatly,you don't always get what you aim for.So,it's pretty much crunch time for us.
For a while now,we have been weighing up the idea of shrinking the guild.It's not a case of wanting to,but what's the point of having 80 people who never play in the Guild?
Every time i get someone to join,the first thing they ask is "where is everyone,and why do you have guys who hav'nt been on for weeks?" In short,after putting up my mega recruiting message in a town and then getting them here and finding there's only four people on,i quite honestly feel like an idiot.There's this poor new guy who thinks he's joined some great guild where he's going to have all those people to interact with,loads of people to help him and guide him through the game,and they ar'nt here because a tornado ate thier p.c (or some other excuse).